top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmrita Nandi

Beginner’s Guide to Fitness

The literal meaning of staying physically fit is undoubtedly essential but it is also a mindset that needs to be built. it is definitely a goal to be attained while also enjoying the journey towards it. This article would typically guide you towards developing basic level of fitness for a hike or a trek and I would also love to share my journey. So Kumaraparvata, which is considered one of the most difficult treks down south; was my first attempt to trekking and I really did not know what was in store for me. The first reality check happened when we were all gathered together in a circle before we started climbing and the trek lead asked, “What all treks have you guys done before?”; “ and I was like this is my first trek and she said “Oh Boy!” with a grin. I was neither prepared physically nor mentally for what lay ahead; but that trek gave me an immense amount of knowledge of my physical being. Thankfully I was better prepared for Tarsar Marsar.

Many people have approached me with this question, why is it necessary to be physically fit before starting a trek?

Logically answering:

· As we gain altitude while trekking, the air becomes thinner with lesser infused oxygen for us to breathe in; therefore, in order to cope with the decreasing level of oxygen, we need to build Aerobic fitness or train our cardio-vascular muscles.

· Obviously speaking, walking/climbing uphill is a gravity defying activity along with our rucksacks or day-packs for long hours which demand adequate level of strength and endurance.

How to achieve the moderate level of fitness?

Aerobic fitness: In a much simpler way, any physical activity that exercises your cardio-vascular muscles are highly recommended.

  • You may begin with brisk walking to start with for about 4-5 Kms alternate day while slowly making it a daily convention; you may also include light jogging in instalments. It is crucial to maintain a pace and continue exercising with a break. I used to brisk walk home from office everyday, which is about 3.5-4 kms which ensured a beginner level cardio training.

  • Climbing stairs is next on the charts; this effectively works on the quads, glutes and hamstrings. It is advised to carry a bag/load of 3-4 kgs while training. My cubicle at work is stationed on the ground floor while the cafeteria is on the 6th floor; this was a total winner. It gave me ample opportunity to train my leg muscles; I even chose to use the washrooms located on 3rd or 4th floors on lighter scheduled days at work.

  • Skipping is another form of great workout; you may chose to step outside for it to feel the fresh air.

  • Cycling and swimming are appreciable protocols for cardio training. COVID-19 has forced all of us to find alternate methods of survival and that is how I landed up with a cycle trainer at home. Wait for it; I didn’t not buy the entire fitness trainer; just converted a regular cycle into a trainer cycle instead. Stick on for details.

  • Running is the most prominent and by far the best cardio-vascular exercise. It is a mandate to be able to run 5kms under 40 mins and I struggled big time with it initially. I have never been a fan of exercising, let alone running; but I had to slowly built it over time to pace myself to a decent standard.

All of these essentially strengthens the heart, improves circulation, breathing functions and enables the ability to process less air for more work.

A little insider story here…

I have been a chubby kid all my childhood which was just thought to be cute when I was younger; however eventually I started gaining weight to an extent that I used to weigh close to 73kgs as a teenage girl, while many of my friends were underweight; needless to say PE classes were a terror. I knew I was obese but did not take any major action on the right path; it was an alarming situation everytime we went shopping for clothes, as nothing fit me. It is important to identify the body type and more important to remember that there is no one stencil that fits all; each of us have our own journey to pursue.

Getting back to the context of toning up, I identified my body to be of low metabolic capacity and primarily focused on increasing the amount of movement in a day, to start with. I started brisk walking from hostel to college (also because I was super late almost everyday) and I ate basic hostel food; that’s when I started to notice my body change gradually over a period of 6-8 months. My skin was clearer, I felt happier and lighter and eventually over time I lost a good amount of weight primarily due to aerobic fitness.

Strength and endurance training: In other words, strengthening and building muscle mass. This is a crucial procedure to have a healthy body proportion.

  • As a beginner, squats, lunges and sumo squats are main exercises to strengthen your primary leg muscles; they reinforce the strength around your knee muscles, quads and glutes which are essential for a trek.

  • Regular stretching determines the amount of movement your bones can make in any direction around joints such as shoulders, elbows, hips and knees also ensuring improvement in the posture.

  • Plank holds along with alternate stretching of your hamstrings, quadriceps, hip flexors and low back muscles regularly would promote relaxation in the tissues, reducing the strain on your back; much needed during the long hours of work from home.

  • Yoga and specifically surya namaskar is a wholesome stretch food for our body and mind while regularizing our breathing patterns.

Lockdown during COVID-19 was a great window for me to eat clean and ensure regular exercising. I also follow basic guidelines of intermittent fasting and I can totally vouch for that; however, I am not an expert yet. Please reach out to me for my routine.

P.S: Please note that you can engage into any form of exercise during any time of the day, one does not burn extra calories by working out in the morning.

Therefore, keep moving and stay happy!


Cycle trainer Kit - I bought is from Decathlon

128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page